HAVANT BOROUGH COUNCIL

At a meeting of the Annual Council / Mayor Making held on 17 May 2023

Present

Councillor (Chairman)

Councillors Bowdell, Bowerman, Brent, Briggs, Coates, Crellin, Denton, Fairhurst, Diamond, Keast, Kennett, Linger, Lloyd, Patel, Patrick, Payter, Raines, Rennie, Redsull, Richardson, Robinson, Sceal, Mrs Shimbart, Stone, Tindall, Turner, Wade, Weeks, Gray, Gray and Rason

1 To Elect a Member of the Council to be Mayor of the Borough

Proposed by Councillor Crellin and seconded by Councillor Bowdell, it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Rosy Raines be elected Mayor of the Borough of Havant for 2023/2024.

The Council adjourned at 11:11 and reconvened at 11.34

During the adjournment the Council and invited guests were entertained by the Choir from St Thomas More's Catholic Primary School and members of the Havant Orchestra.

Councillor Rosy Raines made her declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor of Havant.

The Mayor, Councillor Rosy Raines in the Chair.

The Mayor announced that her Consort for 2023/2024 would be Graham Raines, her Chaplain would be Sue Moss and the Cadet's for 2023/24 would be:

- Cadet Jack Godding St John Cadet (Havant)
- Cadet Imogen Barber St John Cadet (Havant)
- Corporal Finney Coomber 2327 Havant Squadron Royal Air Force Air Cadets
- Cadet Charlie Dowdell 4 (Leigh Park) Platoon Army Cadet Force

The Mayor further announced her Charity Appeal Fund for the forthcoming year would support the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI).

2 Vote of Thanks to Last Year's Mayor and Reply

Proposed by Councillor Bowerman and seconded by Councillor Keast, it was

RESOLVED that a vote of thanks be recorded to the past Mayor, Councillor Diana Patrick, for her service to the Council during her term of office.

The Retiring Mayor, Councillor Diana Patrick, took the opportunity to thank all those who had supported her. She relayed some highlights of her term of office mentioning in particular the Heart of Hayling Boxing Academy.

3 Appointment of Deputy Mayor

Proposed by Councillor Rosy Raines and seconded by Councillor Yvonne Weeks, it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Peter Wade be elected as Deputy Mayor for 2023/2024.

Councillor Wade made his declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Mayor of Havant and announced that Janet Wade to be his Deputy Mayoress for the forthcoming year 2023/2024.

4 Discharges and Appointments of Trustees

Proposed by Councillor Sceal, seconded by Councillor Wade, it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Rosy Raines be appointed Trustee of the Mayor of the Borough of Havant Appeal Fund Charitable Trust and that Councillor Diana Patrick be appointed further trustee of the Mayor of the Borough of Havant Appeal Fund Charitable Trust.

5 Election of the Leader of the Council

Proposed by Councillor Lulu Bowerman and seconded by Councillor David Keast it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Alex Rennie be appointed as Leader of the Council for the year 2023/2024 in line with Articles in the Councils' Constitution.

6 Committee Appointments

Proposed by Councillor Richard Stone and seconded by Councillor Brenda Linger, it was

RESOLVED that Council:

- a. Note the political balance of the Council, as set out in Appendix A;
- b. Note the appointments made to the Cabinet by the Leader of the Council as set out in Part A of Appendix B
- c. Receive notification from the Leader of the Council that unless and until the Leader of the Council otherwise directs, the Cabinet, being the body which will undertake the relevant functions and powers set out in Part 3 of the Constitution of Havant Borough Council, will undertake all those functions and powers by acting together, save

that, where Cabinet functions have been delegated to individual members of the Cabinet in accordance with the Scheme of Delegations to Cabinet Leads set out in Part 3B of the Constitution and/or to officers in accordance with the Scheme of Delegations to Officers set out in Part 3G of the Constitution, those delegations will continue to have effect.

- d. Review the representation of the different political groups on each of the Committees and Boards set out in Appendix B and determines:
 - I. the allocation of seats on each of those bodies to each of the political groups into which the Council is divided and
 - II. the membership of those bodies in accordance with the wishes of those groups; and
- e. Approve:
 - I. the appointment and functions of the various Committees and Boards
 - II. the appointment of Councillors to those Committees and Boards
 - III. the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs (as appropriate) to those Committees and Boards as set out in Parts B and C of Appendix B;
 - IV. that all appointments set out in Appendix B, shall remain in place until the next Annual meeting of the Council

7 Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Councillors David Guest, Tom Moutray, Sarah Milne and Phil Munday.

8 Declarations of Interests

There were no declarations of interest from any of the members present.

9 Minutes

Proposed by Councillor Neil Bowdell, seconded by Councillor Richard Kennett, it was

Resolved that the minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 22 March 2023 be taken as read and signed as a true record.

The meeting commenced at 11.00 am and concluded at 12.41 pm